Home Page

Seven Areas of Learning

The EYFS curriculum is first and foremost the EYFS Statutory framework. The Framework sets out the Characteristics of Effective Learning (How children learn) and the 7 Areas of Learning (What children learn.) Practitioners also use Development Matters and Birth to 5 Matters to inform planning and assessment.


The 7 Areas of Learning

Our Nursery and Reception follow the curriculum as outlined in the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework. This framework defines what we teach and we use the Birth to Five Matters and Development Matters guidance to support our curriculum. The EYFS framework includes seven areas of learning and development, all of which are seen as important and interconnected.


Three of the areas are referred to as the Prime areas. These are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving (Early Years Framework 2021)

Prime Areas

Specific Areas

Personal, Social, Emotional Development

Communication and Language

Physical Development



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


Please click on the link below to read more about how we implement the seven areas of learning.